Chapter 4
Jurisdictional standards


A special category of standards that affects practically all organizations is that group of standards promulgated by Federal, State, and Local jurisdictions such as OSHA, DOT, DOE, EPA, Cal-OSHA, counties, cities, and regional governing bodies that are regulatory. These standards have the distinction of being enforceable by legal sanction, typically fines. This is different from standards that may have been agreed upon by contract between two companies, which do not have the same means of enforcement.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In