Chapter 4
Environmental and Related Requirements


This chapter summarizes the major environmental laws relevant to decommissioning. Whereas the Atomic Energy Act (AEA 1954) is the primary law governing the management of radionuclides, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) is the primary law governing hazardous waste. Other statutes also address the release and disposal of radioactive and hazardous materials. Although the DOE, the NRC, and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) are the primary agencies implementing these requirements, much of the authority to develop environmental regulations and enforce them has been delegated to the states. It is not practical to address the individual state environmental requirements in this handbook, many of which are similar to the federal requirements.

  • 4.1 Introduction
  • 4.2 The Atomic Energy Act
  • 4.3 Resource Conservation and Recovery Act
  • 4.4 Hazardous Materials Transportation Act
  • 4.5 Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
  • 4.6 Low-Level Waste Policy Act
  • 4.7 Nuclear Waste Policy Act
  • 4.8 Clean Air Act
  • 4.9 Clean Water Act
  • 4.10 Safe Drinking Water Act
  • 4.11 National Environmental Policy Act
  • 4.12 Endangered Species Act
  • 4.13 Toxic Substances Control Act
  • 4.14 Federal Facility Compliance Act
  • 4.15 National Historic Preservation Act
  • 4.16 Coastal Zone Management Act
  • 4.17 Fish and Wild Life Coordination Act
  • 4.18 State Laws

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In