Chapter 12


Roller bearings have been subject to extensive world standardization efforts. Ball and cylindrical roller bearings are the most prevalent bearing types in countries using the metric system. The secretariat for the Technical Committee ISO∕TC4 Rolling Bearings is held by Sweden. Its first recommendation, R15 for radial bearings boundary dimensions, was issued in 1955, and the second edition of this important standard received worldwide approval in 1968. The largest ball and cylindrical roller bearing manufacturing companies in the world have adhered to the ISO recommendation, so that today a number of bearing types, produced by different manufacturing companies, can be interchanged.

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI), representing the USA position on an international level, and the American Bearing Manufacturers Association, Inc. (ABMA), are responsible for rolling element bearing standardization in the USA These standards are published as ANSI∕ABMA standards and are available from either of the above organizations.

ANSI∕ABMA 20 describes metric design radial ball, cylindrical roller, and spherical roller bearings conforming to the basic boundary plans, which contain radial bearing parameters from the following international standards:

• ISO 15 (boundary dimensions)

• ISO 464 (snap rings and grooves)

• ISO 492 (tolerances)

• ISO 582 (chamfer dimensions)

• ISO 5753 (radial clearances)

  • Summary
  • Ball and Cylindrical Roller Bearings
  • Needle Roller Bearings
  • Tapered Roller Bearings
  • Plain Bearings and Self-Aligning Bushings
  • Related ISO Standards
  • National Standards
  • Related Handbooks
Topics: Bearings

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In